5 things I learned while training for Ragnar Las Vegas

Hello again stranger!

I wanted to pop in before I took off for Ragnar Las Vegas that is happening this Friday. T-minus 2 days!! Yikes! Things are getting real! I can’t believe how fast it snuck up on me!! The title of this post is a little misleading because there really wasn’t a lot of training going on. I was consistently running, for the most part but, it wasn’t until the last 2 weekends when I started to get serious about it. I didn’t get in as many training runs as I wanted to but, it will have to be good enough.  If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook then you know I only was able to do 2 training run series which consisted of running 3 separate runs in a 24-hour period. I wanted to simulate what it would be like to run on tired legs and having a short recovery time between runs. Essentially, in the actual race, each runner will be running 3 times (or legs as they are called) in a 24-hour period, with each run (leg) varying in distance and difficulty.

Ragnar Las vegas 5 things i learned while training

 

Ragnar Las vegas 5 things i learned while training

 

As I was running my training runs I was finding several things that would be help me during Ragnar and anyone else who is thinking about doing a Ragnar.

5 things i learned while training for Ragnar Las Vegas

1.Body Glide. A must!! After my first training run I forgot to use it so by run #2, which was only 10 hours later, my skin didn’t have time to heal and was raw in certain places where my clothes were constantly rubbing against my skin. So, after I took a shower after run#2 I was quickly reminded how important it is  to remember to apply Body Glide before each run!Ragnar Las Vegas 5 things i learned while training

2. Compression gear.  I have 2 pairs of CEP compression socks. I wore one pair after run#2 and I slept in them. My legs were starting to ache after running 11 miles in less than 12 hours. I wore the other pair during run #3 and my legs actually felt really good throughout that 6 mile run.

Ragnar Las Vegas 5 things i learned while training

 

3. Bring 2 pairs of running shoes. Prior to my training runs I didn’t think I would need 2 pairs but, after run#1 there wasn’t going to be enough time in-between for my shoes to have time to breath. Run #1 and #3 I wore Nike Pegasus 31. Run #2 I wore Nike Free 2.0 which are a lighter/minimalist shoe that I use for cross-training and shorter runs.

Ragnar las vegas 5 things i learned while training

 

4.Bring warm clothes to wear AFTER each run. I didn’t realize that being cold after a run would be an issue until I did a 9 mile run Sunday morning when the temps were in the 40’s. I wore full length running tights and a long sleeve shirt. After the run, I felt good, temperature wise, I was covered in sweat which felt good, at the time. As soon as my sweat dried up and all I was left with were wet clothes, I very quickly became very, very cold. I was lucky enough to be at home and able to take a hot shower but, at Ragnar I may not have that opportunity so I will need to pack extra jackets and blankets.

 

5. Oh and try to have some fun. Though it will be exhausting, this will be such a fun experience I have to remember to enjoy it. This maybe the only opportunity I have to be able to participate in something like this.

 

 

Today I made a stop at my favorite local running store, Fleet Feet Rancho Cucamonga, to stock up on some Honey Stinger chews/gels and to buy a reflective safety vest and wrist holder.

Ragnar Las Vegas: stocking up on running essentials!

 

In less than 24 hours I will be heading out to Las Vegas and I haven’t even started packing! This is all I have together so far:

**sleeping bag, pillow, playing cards, light up necklaces, my Fleet Feet haul**

Ragnar Las vegas 5 things i learned while training

 

My intention was to get out a couple more blog posts on Ragnar before race weekend but, we can all see how that went, not good.

 

Don’t forget to follow on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter where our team (12 runners) will conquer 189 miles! I will be posting frequently starting tomorrow all the way through Sunday to see all our shenanigans during Ragnar Las Vegas weekend!!

 

AND you can follow our team at #ragnarhoneybadgers

 

Have you done a Ragnar? Which one(s)?

Would you do it again?

picmonkey collage race logo

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 5 things I learned while training for Ragnar Las Vegas

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Excellent tips. Have fun. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  2. Warm clothes after is definitely a must! I wasn’t expecting to change as much as I did but I wore nearly all I packed. Can’t wait to read your recap!!!

  3. lojepp says:

    Thanks for the tips. I’m currently training for the CapeCod Ragnar Relay in May. These will come in handy.

  4. Jess says:

    Do you use your old shoes too? Or what do you do with your old shoes?

    • I used the same shoes I wore during training… I had my high mileage pair and a lighter pair I used on the short leg of the relay… Hope that answered your question?

      • Jess says:

        Thanks! Partially. What do you do woth your running shoes once you wear them out? How many miles do you get out of them

      • My old shoes I just keep :/ you should see my closet! I have every shoe I have ran in the last 5 yrs . The mileage I get out of each shoe varies… Sometimes I can go 4-5 months and sometimes only 3 months. I usually know when I need a new pair when I start having aches and pains. My ankles start giving me problems…. I feel a twinge in my knee, my calves feel tight, many things will start coming up that’s when I know I need a new pair.

      • Jess says:

        Wow! I cant imagine. My closet probably not far behind. What are you going to do with all of them? Do you only get nikes?

      • Haha! I don’t know what I’m going to do with them.. For some odd reason I feel attached to them . I have a couple nikes but I really don’t have a preference. I always go into my local running store and tell then I’m open to different brands. Currently I have mizunos and those have worked out the best for me 🙂

      • Jess says:

        Totally the same. This might be the weekend i toss them though. I am going to get new ones today and definitely am looking at Mizunos. Which mizunos do you have? Do all your old ones have holes in them?

      • The Waverider 18 (I think that’s what they are called??). No I have never had holes in my shoes …..

Leave a Reply

