WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} meatless Monday {Bonus: New recipes!}

Hi there!

So, I signed up for a 4 week holiday-type challenge (Elf4Health) that is being hosted by Lindsay @ THe Lean Green Bean and Elle from According to Elle. Each day is a new task to complete and post about it on FB and/or IG to get credit for that task. Day 1 was Meatless Monday. Major Fail. I ate salmon and chicken. I couldn’t even go a whole day without meat but, in my defense I don’t eat eggs, beans, soy, grains (except rice) and small amounts of dairy so, I am very limited as to what I can eat to get my protein. And don’t try to tell me “some veggies have protein”. Yes, some do but, I’m not going to eat 4 cups of spinach or broccoli in each meal to only get roughly 24g of protein. That is just plain crazy. And if you don’t already know, I am not a fan of veggies. I know you would think I would be the veggie queen since I am this clean, whole-food eating gal but, that is not the case at all. I don’t like leafy greens. So, no salads. I will eat them but the meat has to be the star of the show. You won’t catch me eating kale “chips”. EVER. And for the record kale chips are not real potato chips. You can add all the nutritional yeast you want on those things, that isn’t going to make them “cheesier”. They don’t taste like potato chips, not in the least.  I know this because I have tried them and you know what they taste like? Kale. They taste like kale that has been in the oven for 20 minutes. Alright, somehow I got on this whole kale tangent.

On to why you really stopped by to read my little blog, food. I am linking up with Jenn over at Peas & Crayons for her weekly WIAW series. Make sure to stop on over and see what other food bloggers are munching on!

WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} meatless monday

I will warn you, my only real meatless meal was breakfast and that is what I have most mornings.

Without further adieu, here is my not-so meatless Monday meals! Try saying that 3 times fast.

WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} Meatless Monday

Breakfast: 1 Whole avocado w/ salt + 1 banana w/ (You Fresh Natural) White chocolate cashew butter and (Enjoy Life) mini chocolate chips + coffee (that isn’t shown)

Yes people, I eat a whole avocado at once, not just a 1/4 or a 1/3, the whole damn thing! #lovemesomefats #healthyfatsdontmakeyoufat #processedrefinedfoodsdoes #youcanteatanavocadoandthenruntomcdonalds #andsaybutiateahealthyfat #whyaminotlosingweight?

WIAW #21

 

 

 

 

 

 

WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} Meatless Monday

Lunch: My “fried” rice (see recipe below-sans eggs) + oven-roasted Asian salmon (see recipe below)

WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} Meatless Monday

Afternoon coffee: Bulletproof-style coffee

WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} Meatless Monday

Dinner: “Chipotle” Chicken bowl (recipe below)

I know crazy 4 recipes in one post?! What is the world coming to?? I know I have been promising some new recipes that I have floated out there on social media a long, long time ago and never followed through with my promise. I am making up for it now. Sound good? Good!

“Fried” Rice {egg-free, soy-free, dairy-free, gluten-free}

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 2 celery stalk, chopped
  • 4 oz white mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped

 

  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, minced
  • 2-3 drops fish sauce
  • 1 Tbl toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 2 Tbl rice wine vinegar
  • 3 cups cooked white rice

Instructions:

  1. Sauté first 4 ingredients in a sauté pan w/ 1 Tbl coconut oil or fat of choice.
  2. Once veggies have softened, add garlic and ginger to sauté pan.
  3. Stir everything together until garlic becomes aromatic.
  4. Add cooked rice to pan, stir to combine.
  5. Don’t stir for 3-4 minutes so rice can get slightly crisp on the bottom.
  6. Add in the fish sauce, sesame oil, coconut aminos and rice vinegar. stir to combine.
  7. Continue to saute all the ingredients together for 10-15 minutes, stirring every 3-4 minutes or until everything is combined.

 

Oven-baked Asian Salmon {soy-free, gluten-free}

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb approx. wild-caught salmon

Marinade:

  • 1/2 cup coconut aminos
  • 3 Tbl rice wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbl toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp Himalayan sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Combine marinade and salmon in Ziploc freezer bag. Place in fridge for 30 minutes.
  2. Oven @ 375
  3. Place marinated salmon on parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet in oven for 8-10 minutes or until the fish can be easily flaked apart with a fork.

**the time will vary based on the thickness of the salmon. I had approx. 1 inch or a little less and I should have only baked it for 8 minutes and not the 10 minutes.

 

“Chipotle”-style chicken bowl

Ingredients:

  • cilantro-lime rice
    • 3 cups cooked white rice
    • 2 Tbl cilantro, minced
    • 2 Tbl lime juice
  • guacamole
    • 2 large ripe avocados,
    • 3 Tbl red onion, minced
    • 2 Tbl cilantro, minced
    • 2 Tbl lime juice
    • 1/4 tsp Himalayan sea salt
  • salsa
    • 5 tomatoes, chopped
    • 2 Tbl yellow onion, chopped
    • 2 Tbl cilantro, minced
    • Himalayan sea salt, to taste
  • chicken
    • 1-1.5 lbs chicken breasts, chopped in 1 inch cubes
    • 1/4 cup lime juice
    • 1/2 tsp chili powder
    • 1/2 tsp cumin
    • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
    • 1/2 tsp salt

Instructions:

  1. Rice- combine all ingredients.
  2. Guacamole-mash avocado and combine rest of ingredients.
  3. salsa- combine all ingredients.
  4. Chicken- combine spices in with chicken. heat coconut oil in saute pan. Place chicken in pan and saute until cooked through.
  5. Grab a bowl. Pile in the rice, chicken, guac and salsa. That’s it! Enjoy!

 

There you got 3 recipes that you can try!

Don’t forget to head on over to Peas and Crayons to see what yumminess other bloggers are eating!

Questions for you!

Could you or do you currently do Meatless Monday’s?

What type of food is your main protein source?

Peas and Crayons

 

The Lean Green Bean
This entry was posted in Challenges, New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WIAW #21: What I ate on my {not-so} meatless Monday {Bonus: New recipes!}

  1. Small steps right? Yes I am a vegetarian 24/7 check out my site for great Meatless Monday ideas you won’t even miss your meat. Our weekly link ups get tons of recipe ideas

  2. LOL to your kale tangent! I love meat too much to give it up. When I see a field of cows, I see grass-fed beef, which is my absolute favourite meat. That and chicken wings. I’m glad we found each other via WIAW – we can spread the paleo-running word!!!!

Leave a Reply

