{Primal/Paleo/whole foods} Food Prep + Meal Planning week of: 1/11-1/17/15

Hellloooooooooo  {{{in my best Jerry Seinfeld voice}}}

I know. It’s been an eternity since I have sat in front of my computer and actually spent time writing to you all. I missed you! Did you miss me?? I won’t be offended if you didn’t. It’s okay, I forgive you 🙂 Moving on….now that I made things totally awkward. I am finally back with my weekly food prep/meal planning posts that I used to do many moons ago. This time the format will be a little different. I won’t go into as much detail regarding the food prep. I will still list all the food prep for the week to get you started but, I won’t include MY own food prep pictures because honestly, as I write this I haven’t even done any food prep yet. These weekly posts will be published on either Saturday or Sunday for the coming week. You can expect to see the following: list of food prep ideas, breakfast/lunch/dinner/etc meal ideas and maybe a recipe or two.

Here we go..

For those of you who are new followers of my blog:

  • Most of my recipes that you will find on here will be based around Paleo-living. I do eat some dairy (half & half, milk, cheese) and white rice once or twice a week.
  • Majority of the recipes will be: egg-free, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free, diary-free and grain-free (except for rice that may pop up here and there).

 

Food Prep and meal planning: 1/11-1/17/15

 

Breakfast:

  • baked or diced and roasted sweet potatoes + apple cinnamon breakfast sausage + avocado
  • any leftovers from dinner

Lunch:

  • deli meat roll-ups (Applegate brand-chicken, turkey, ham)
  • tuna (Wild Planet brand) salad {tuna, mashed with avocado + minced red onions, parsley and diced pickles (Bubbies brand)}
  • cranberry chicken salad (The Paleo Kitchen) —{basically dried cranberries + diced nuts of choice + diced green apple + Paleo mayo (don’t use store-bought, make your own please.)} Use this recipe and an IMMERSION BLENDER! —>>>http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/2010/06/03/the-secret-to-homemade-mayo-patience/

Dinner:

  • Chicken stir-fry w/ white rice OR cauli”rice” (see below for how I made this super easy meal)
  • Bolognese sauce (aka meat sauce) over carrot “noodles”* OR zoodles –>recipe for zoodles here.
  • lemon rosemary whole roasted chicken (The Paleo Kitchen) w/ baked sweet potatoes
  • chicken zoodle soup (The Paleo Kitchen) I couldn’t find the recipe online for the one I follow out of The Paleo Kitchen’s cookbook but, here is one that is similar—>http://vahuntergatherers.com/2013/09/04/chicken-zoodle-soup/

*julienne carrots–dry saute in a pan, add minced garlic, light drizzle of olive oil to finish it.

Sides/sauces/etc:

  • “pickled” beets (see recipe below)
  • Paleo mayo

Food Prep:

  1. Make a batch of white rice or cauli “rice”
  2. roast chicken before making the chicken soup—will need the chicken carcass to make the bone broth for the soup. *** use the chicken carcass along with any giblets and any extra goodies that are in the chicken–> http://nomnompaleo.com/post/3615609338/slow-cooker-beef-bone-broth
  3. roast beets
  4. bake sweet potatoes
  5. make chicken bone broth

 

 

Food Prep and meal planning: 1/11-1/17/15

Ingredients:

  • cooked chicken breast
  • veggies (I used some frozen veggies from Costco)
  • stir-fry sauce (Check ingredients!—I use this brand since I am able to identify all the ingredients!)
  • cooked white rice or cauli “rice”

Instructions:

  1. steam the veggies until fork tender.
  2. add cooked chicken and sauce in with the veggies.
  3. stir to combine.
  4. Serve along side rice!

 

“Pickled” beets:

If you like those pickled beets you get in a can at the store then you will love these. These “pickled” beets are even better!

  • red beets
  • balsamic vinegar
  • Himalayan salt

Instructions:

  1. rinse outside of beets.
  2. place each whole beet in its own individual foil “purse”
  3. drizzle each beet with olive oil, close foil together.
  4. place all “purses” into roasting pan or other baking pan.
  5. roast for 90 mins or until fork-tender.
  6. let beets cool before handling.
  7. once cool, peel beets and thinly slice them horizontally.
  8. place beets in large glass bowl, sprinkle with salt and generous amount of balsamic vinegar.
  9. toss to coat evenly.
  10. enjoy at any point. I found the longer they sit in the vinegar in the fridge the tastier they are.

 

That wraps up today’s post! See you next time!! Hopefully sooner rather later 🙂

One last thing…..Make sure to check out my Whole30 board I have on Pinterest. All Whole30 approved recipes!

Follow Lindsey L’s board Whole30 on Pinterest.

 

What’s your favorite easy peasy recipe? Share recipe in comments!

Don’t forget to follow me: Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter

 

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Uncategorized, Whole30 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

