WIAW# 23: What I ate….while recovering from a cold

Hi everyone!

No, this isn’t an April Fool’s Joke. It is really me and I am actually writing a post on here.

I’m linking up with Jen over at Peas & Crayons in her weekly WIAW (What I ate Wednesday) series. It has been over 2 months since I participated and wanted to get back into it. I love checking out what other bloggers’ eat and I get some good ideas for meals and snacks!

For about a week now, either my son, Z, or I have been sick. I think I can safely say *knock on wood* that we are officially on the mend. I had the cold; runny nose, sneezing, cough, irritated throat and my son had the fever, cough and stuffy nose. Fun times over here.

The first day that I started not feeling good, I made some homemade chicken soup. I wanted something simple, soothing and nourishing. The soup hit the spot! The added bonus I actually had everything to make the chicken soup. win-win!

I have been looking for something different to eat for breakfast that will actually keep me full all morning.  Since I don’t eat eggs and don’t eat the traditional breakfast foods (ie-French toast, pancakes, etc), it leaves me with very limited options. I have to look outside the typical breakfast foods and focus on what can I eat that will give me the nutrients I need to start the day. In the past, I have had pulled pork, ground beef patty, baked chicken, baked salmon, etc. You get the idea. I figured I would try my homemade chicken soup I made last weekend and have it for breakfast. Result? It keep me full throughout the morning! It is a keeper.

WIAW #23: What I ate...while recovering from a cold

Here is a look at the rest of Monday’s eats:

 

WIAW 23

{PRE-BREAKFAST} 1st cup of coffee of the day! Just some 1/2 & 1/2 and that is all I need. Always the first thing I have in the morning.

 

WIAW 23

{Breakfast}  homemade chicken soup + 1/2 large banana [not shown-I think we all know what a banana looks like 😉 ]

  Chicken soup recipe:

(I didn’t measure any of the ingredients for the soup) 

Pacific (brand) chicken bone broth, onion, celery, carrots, fresh ginger, fresh garlic, fresh thyme, cooked shredded chicken.

**the Pacific bone broth has 9g per 1 cup of protein!

WIAW 23

{LUNCH} Chicken salad: paleo mayo, carrots, green apple, red onion, celery and cooked shredded chicken.

{AFTERNOON COFFEE} (not shown) Iced double espresso with 1/2 and 1/2 and raw local honey

WIAW23

{DINNER}  hamburger w/ grass-fed cheese and Pederson’s (Paleo-friendly)  bacon w/ zucchini

**That piece of lettuce was for photo purposes only. I do not actually eat it. I am not a fan of lettuce 😉

{NIGHT TIME SNACK} handful of Brookside chocolates (not shown)

What I Ate Wednesday - Peas and Crayons

Don’t forget to head on over to the link-up party at Peas & Crayons for other great meal ideas!!

What is your usual go-to food(s) when you are sick?

Would you ever eat non-breakfast foods for breakfast? Or do you already?

Don’t forget to  follow me! Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WIAW# 23: What I ate….while recovering from a cold

  1. AH!! I just love your coffee mug! How fun! You’ll never drop that baby 😉

  2. My now go-to is bone broth. I’ve just made beef broth for the first time and boy does my house stink!

    Sometimes I’ll eat non-breakfast foods, depending on what we have for leftovers or if we need groceries. I always have vegetables as part of my breakfast. In fact, they’re part of every meal for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

