Week 12 Marathon Training + Christmas in July

I can’t believe I have only a little over 2 months left until the BIG RACE! Yikes! What have I gotten myself into?! This week was an “easy” week. My long run on Sunday was only 8 miles. I love that I can say that now!

8 miler (long run on Sunday)

On my shorter runs I always go on how I feel at the beginning of the run to determine if I PicMonkey Collage8milerwill try to run hard for time or just try to do a comfortable pace throughout. Well, this run I was feeling good and very quickly I realized that this 8 miles was going to be a run for time. My only issue that I ran into was on the last 2.5 miles, the tops of my feet were starting to hurt which reminded me I needed to make a call to my local running store to see if the shoes I ordered came in yet. I knew why I had been having issues with my feet lately. The life of my Asics were coming to an end.

2 mile (speed run)

With this run I was doing a full on speed workout. I ran the first mile with a full-out sprint which was a mistake because that caused me to be completely wiped on my 2nd mile. Looking back I should have split up the 2 miles into 4 separate times of 800 meter sprints. Next time….

6 miles (easy run-almost didn’t make it)

Warning the next paragraph is going to be a little TMI for some. If you are a runner, you won’t even bat an eyelash 🙂

This was a rough 6 miles. I always make fun of my hubby always bringing “bathroom supplies” on his runs, well this time I was wishing I had brought some. Sorry this maybe a little TMI for you non-runners who don’t know what it is like to be out on a run and all of a sudden you get an extreme urge that you need to find a bathroom or a good bush STAT! At mile 2.5 I starting feeling like I had to go to the bathroom and there were a couple fast food restaurants coming up that I could pop into, but that feeling only lasted less than a quarter-mile so I powered on. Then 1.5 miles later I completely had to stop because I felt like I was going to have to call the hubby to come get me and my soiled pants :/  I was about 5 seconds away from calling him when the feeling subsided and I had to make a decision: either turn right and head home and only do 5 miles or go straight uphill and continue my 6 miles. You could guess what I chose, straight up the hill! I was not going to give up that easy and in my stubbornness ways I didn’t want to feel defeated when I was feeling fine at the time. Needless to say, I ran the 6 miles and made it home just in time to make a bee-line to the bathroom. Happy Ending!

Week 12 Training

PicMonkey Collageweeklytraining

Total miles week 12: 16 miles

Total miles last month (July): 81.25

Total year to date: 372.90

Christmas in July

Brooks Ghost 6

I had gone into Fleet Feet Sports 2 weekends ago to get some new shoes since my other newshoesbrooksghostones were completely breaking down. They didn’t have my size in stock, at the time, and were going to order my size the following week. I kept forgetting to call during the week until I would be out on a run and start feeling the aches and pain. I was happy when I called on Sunday to find out they came in and I was at the store about 10 minutes later. I have been to Fleet Feet quite a few times in the last few weeks so when I walk in they already know me. I love it! My last pair was Asics and since I wasn’t married to the brand I was open to different brands. Just when I thought running shoes couldn’t get any lighter, these Brooks Ghost are even lighter than my Asics.

Addaday Ultra Roller

addadayrollerpiccollage

Of course I couldn’t just leave with just the shoes. I had been contemplating buying a rollermeusingtherollerpiccollage for a while. Especially, in the last few weeks when I have been running my 14 miles, my hamstrings and calves would feel very tight for a couple of days after those runs. Let me tell you this roller has instant results! The roller is easy to use on yourself and works if you can get someone to roll out your tight muscles too!

 

 

 

 

One of the bloggers I follow recently did a whole post on different types of foam rollers! Head on over to Deb’s blog Deb Runs on her post, Rolling It Out  On a daily basis she provides very informative running related posts. You can read more about her, here.

Questions for runners:

Have you experienced any type of bathroom emergencies while out on a run? Fortunately, I haven’t had to go out in “nature” or  pop in a food/store establishment. Thursday was the closet I ever came to it.

What brand of running shoe do you wear? Are you married to a certain brand?

Do you use a massage/foam roller after your long runs? What kind?

Do you have a Fleet Feet Sports by you?

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 12 Marathon Training + Christmas in July

  1. KelsieLou says:

    Yes. Kinda Sorta. Female issues for the first timw ever. At least I know what to do next time.
    Married to Asics.
    This post makes me want to foam roll so it stops collexting dust.
    Fleet Feet here in Louisville, KY!

  2. Bathroom emergencies is my middle name, and now you know why I talk about porta-potties all of the time! TeeHee! 🙂

    I love my Asics and have been running in them for years! I could probably be talked into wearing a different brand if I was guaranteed an exchange for my beloved Asics if I didn’t like the new pair. With that being said, I haven’t run in anything other than Asics since 1997!

    Thanks for the mention in your post. I’m so glad that you found the foam rolling post useful! Your new roller looks like a beast! I bet it’s a good one.

  3. OKay, here we go with some more TMI for your post…
    I had the same ailment on my long run this weekend and it happens almost every time I go for a longer ish run… It’s so frustrating but I’ve learned to plan my runs around places (namely – Starbucks) so I can run in and relieve myself… Ugh!
    Cute new shoes!! YAY for a new, lighter pair! Your runs have been going awesome too, I love hearing about them!

  4. Rebekah @ fitnesscreatures says:

    I’m think every runner who has ever run a long run before knows what this feels like. Even if it hasn’t quite happened to everyone, I’m sure we’ve all had “that” feeling at one point or another. No good 😦 Glad you were able to tough it out! You’re killin it lately!

Leave a comment