Friday Five: Family & Friends Edition

For the last eight years running has been a huge part of my life. I couldn’t imagine my life without running. Even though I have not always had a great “diet” up until a couple of years ago. I have always been interested in nutrition, macro/micro nutrients, how your body breaks down all the nutrients and uses it to fuel your body and the such.  About five years ago I even went back to school to become a registered dietitian but, that was short-lived. I only went to school for a semester and never went back. I do have some regrets that I didn’t follow through with but, so is life. I am still young maybe, one day, I will go back and finish what I started. After all this rambling, all I am trying to say is having an active and healthy lifestyle is essential is living a happy life. You only get one body, might as well take care of it and feel good about yourself instead of being unhappy. If you are unhappy, change that! I know it is easier said then done but, it is possible and will be worth it in the end.

I swear I have a point to this post. Let me get there….

Even before Z was a glimmer in our eye, both my hubby and I agreed that we would continue to live an active and healthy lifestyle even with children in it. We believe it is even more important once kids are in the picture to be a good example to them. Since both of Z’s parents (hubby and I) are runners he has even picked up on our healthy hobby. He runs everywhere he goes. While other kids are walking, he is running.

Okay…I’ll wrap this up since I’m getting no where and at this point just taking up more of your time…..

 

PicMonkey Collage cover photo

 

Today is Friday. That means it is time for Friday Five series. I am linking up again with @EatPrayRunDC, You signed up for What? and Mar on the Run for their weekly Friday series. Today’s theme is family and friends; how you involve others in your active and healthy lifestyle.

 

Friday Five Family and friends edition

1. {Going to the Races!}

Z has grown up in a running family. It is all he knows. He has been to many of my races and seen me cross the finish line. Even though my hubby will disagree, I even convinced him to start running in races. Before our son came along, we would run all of our training runs and races together (at my pace).  My mom even started running several years ago and has completed several 5k’s. I loved hearing her get excited about her birthday, this past January, and it had nothing to do about her turning 60 (sorry Mom I revealed your age). She was more excited now she will be in a new age group for races. She will be one of the young ones in the group, means will have a better shot in winning some age groups. My mom has also watched Z when my hubby and I both would want to run a race that is longer than a 5K.  According to him he could push Z in a stroller longer but, if he doesn’t have to then he won’t.

Friday Five Family and friends edition

2. {Fit4Mom- daily morning workout with our kiddos}

During the week, Z and I have gotten into a routine where we go to stroller strides every morning where I get a workout in and after Z gets to play with the other kids. This week was different since both of us were not feeling so hot but that didn’t stop Z from trying to put his shoes on and head to the door. He was very upset when I told him we weren’t going today. Hopefully, by Monday we will get back into our morning routine.

Friday Five Family and friends edition

3. {Stroller run-best running buddy}

Not every week I take Z with me for one of my runs but, at least every other week we make it out for a short run.

4. {Going Paleo}

For over 2 years now, our household has been majority Paleo. All of the meals I make for dinner are 100% Paleo except for one dinner a month. I threw my hubby a bone and told him I would make ONE non-paleo meal a month. Last month I made chicken enchiladas and Spanish rice. Yes, with real corn tortillas and actual white rice, not Paleo “rice” (cauliflower). I have to come up with something to make before the end of this month that is non-paleo. Having one non-paleo meal a month does make me appreciate it more. Even though I do pay for it very shortly after, it is worth it.

5. {YOUR TURN!}

I know I use this card a lot lately but, I don’t want to make my posts’ all about me all the time.

How do you involve others in your active and healthy lifestyle?

Don’t forget to follow me!:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

 

This entry was posted in motherhood, paleo, running, Top 5 Friday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Five: Family & Friends Edition

  1. is it weird that i look forward to having kids so i can run with them in the stroller? haha – it’s awesome that you have that group to go to every day – how much fun for both of you!

  2. I love that your Mom runs and turning 60 means a different age group! That is fantastic!!! Do you have a Paleo 101 kind of post? You’ve got me motivated. I LOVE to workout. I’d say my diet was pretty good, but I don’t follow any particular method. I wonder how much better I’d perform if I got rid of the crap. You got me on IG – can you get me on Paleo?! Hmmm…would make a great blog post if I tried it for 30 days…

  3. sarahdudek80 says:

    I love this post. My husband and I talk about this a lot and about starting a family. It is important to us to find a balance and make sure that when we do have children we continue with our healthy habits and teach them that you don’t “have” to exercise. It should be a fun daily part of your life.

  4. I love running with the stroller and can’t wait until it warms up enough to get out there with it again!

  5. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    I love this post and I hope that when/if I ever have children I’ll stick with the routine I’ve worked so hard to attain today. Running is absolutely a huge part of my life (duh!) and I can’t imagine life without it. And you’re so wonderful to have such support and love from your family. It’s great that you and the hubs run so that Z can grow up with an active family. That is like, the dream. Constantly Rebekah and I talk about how sad it is that some kids grow up thinking it’s normal so lay around all day everyday – how cafeteria lunches of chicken fingers + fries is normal. Ugh. She knows a few people who feed their kids Paleo and enforce a healthy and active lifestyle and those people are the BEST. 🙂

    • Aww thank you! Yes, it’s very sad that for some kids, eating fast food daily is the norm, watching tv for hours on end, and don’t know what a butternut squash is. Haha! Ok maybe not the last one 🙂 I love that Z requests avocados, bananas and always is stealing my roasted beets off my plate! Now we have tried giving him fast food etc on days where it is just too crazy or what have you and he doesn’t eat like it. Hopefully we are still living this lifestyle for years to come! I couldn’t imagine not being active and healthy!

  6. I didn’t have a very active childhood. (To be fair, my parents tried to encourage me, but all I wanted in life was to read 24-7.) So… I really REALLY hope to be an active example for my kids, too. We’ll see how that goes. They may be as stubborn as I was, though. lol.

Leave a comment