Monday Food Prep: Week of July 21-27

You know what day it is? That’s right, it’s Monday! And here on my blog that means my Monday Food prep post!!  Yay! I know, I am excited too 🙂 (Oh boy, I’m so lame 🙂  )

Back when I was working a 9 to 5 job (before-Z), I always hated Mondays because it was the first day back from the weekend which, also meant 4 more days until the  next weekend. It was a vicious cycle! Since, I have switched my food prep to Mondays, I now look forward to this day because that means my fridge is full of good food for the week ahead.

Grocery List:

  • Lindsay black olives (Costco)
  • Celery sticks (Costco)
  • Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf whole beans (Costco)
  • Broccoli (Costco)
  • Raspberries (Costco)
  • 2 (18 ct) eggs (Costco)
  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts (Costco)
  • ground beef (Costco)
  • Flaxseed meal (Sprouts)
  • roasted unsalted sunflower seeds (Sprouts)
  • banana chips (Sprouts)
  • raisins (Sprouts)
  • whole raw cashews (Sprouts)
  • Light tuna -canned (Sprouts)
  • Thai Kitchen coconut milk-canned (Sprouts)
  • sunflower seed butter (Sprouts)
  • Applegate breakfast pork sausage (Sprouts)
  • baby carrots (Sprouts)
  • black seedless grapes (Sprouts)
  • green cabbage (Sprouts)
  • Italian parsley (Sprouts)
  • red beets (Sprouts)
  • blueberries (Sprouts)
  • red leaf lettuce (Sprouts)
  • spaghetti squash (Sprouts)
  • yellow onions (Sprouts)
  • yellow peaches (Sprouts)

Farm Fresh To You box delivery:PicMonkey Collagefarmfreshtoyou

  • heirloom tomatoes
  • Valencia oranges
  • hass avocados
  • black seedless grapes
  • mission figs
  • red bell pepper
  • green beans
  • cucumber
  • red kale

 

 

 

Food prepped:PicMonkey Collagemondayfoodprep

  • hard-boiled eggs (snack/extra protein)
  • rinse olives (snack/healthy fat/oil)
  • Mediterranean tuna salad (lunch)
  • steam broccoli (side dish)
  • bake whole sweet potatoes (side dish)
  • cut up celery (snack)
  • roast red beets (for marinated beet recipe) (side dish)
  • bake spaghetti squash (to add to Pad Thai recipe) (dinner)

Breakfast idea(s):

  • scrambled eggs + side of veggies/or starchy veggie
  • breakfast sausage w/ an egg + a side of veggies/or starchy veggie (if need more carbs)

Lunch Ideas:

snacks:

  • celery + sunflower seed butter + raisins
  • hard-boiled eggs + black olives
  • bake sweet potato (pre-long runs)

Dinner Ideas:

I finally made the Plantain tostada recipe last night for dinner. The meal was a nice change of pace but, according to my hubby, “I wouldn’t consider this a Mexican dish?!”.  This coming from the same person who had never had an enchilada until he moved out to California.  I did agree it wasn’t what you think of when you hear  Mexican food but, I really loved the ranchero sauce that I made for it. I even put the sauce on my eggs this morning 🙂 This was the first time I had ever bought and/or cooked with plantains. Plantains are very similar to bananas but, much starchier. I didn’t make this recipe last week like planned because it took over a week for the plantains to turn yellow. It was crazy long but, so worth the wait!

Here is the recipe, if you want to try it out.

Plantain Tostadas w/ cilantro-lime chicken and ranchero sauce & guacamole

PicMonkey Collageplantaintostadas

 

 

I didn’t make the guacamole because our avocados weren’t ripe yet 😦

**Side note: I am using one of my favorite Paleo cookbooks this week for many of my meals, Well Fed by Melissa Joulwan, but I was unable to find some of the recipes on her blog. The only one I found was the Mediterranean tuna salad recipe. Her Pad Thai recipe I had posted on a previous post found here–>>https://onemotherofaday.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/the-wait-is-over/

 

Tried out any new recipes lately?

If you don’t follow the Paleo lifestyle, have you ever made or eaten a Paleo-inspired meal before? How did it turn out?

ztheendpicmonkey

This entry was posted in Food finds, New Recipes, paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Whole30 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Food Prep: Week of July 21-27

  1. I’m so happy to see that Well Fed is part of your meal planning this week. YAY! Hope you have fun in the kitchen and enjoy eating the results of your stovetop labors! 🙂

    • I have used your cookbook so much since i got it that I have to use a binder clip to keep all the pages from falling out! I love it! Thank you so much! Can’t wait until Well Fed 2 comes out 🙂

  2. You’re at the mercy of your plantains and avocados! Let me know when you figure out how to get everything to ripen at the right time! 🙂

  3. Marlene says:

    How is the chicken divan prepared> Anything like mine?

    • No. The only ingredients that are the same are chicken and broccoli. It is a paleo recipe so it wont have the usual ingredients. I plan to make it Friday for dinner, will let you know how it turns out.

Leave a comment