Happy Thanksgiving!! {Family Tradition}

Happy Thanksgiving!!

To those in the States, today is a big food AND running day!! What? You didn’t start this morning with a little 5k race?!? Well, you definitely missed out!

This morning started early. 5:00 am early. I always have to get up earlier than everyone else in the house so, I have time to drink my coffee. It’s the important things in life.

Seven years ago, my Mom and I started a Thanksgiving morning tradition, running in a local 5k race. Our very first one was Plymouth Rock-n-run 5k in Anaheim Hills, CA, it was also their Inaugural race as well. We haven’t run every single year but, at least 5 of the 7 years which is pretty good. It is great seeing a race grow from only a couple hundred runners to over a thousand runners. This race benefits a wonderful organization, The Spinal Cord Injury Research at Reeve-Irvine Research Center at UC Irvine.

It’s a Family Affair-Z’s 1st race!!

This year I decided to sign up Z for his very first run, 1k fun run. He got his own bib and finishers medal. I thought he would have a blast, since he is always running everywhere. Well, of course, I was way wrong. My hubby and I went with him and before we even crossed the start line, he was already in tears and hubby was carrying him. We handed him off between the 2 of us for about 95% (I’m probably being generous with that percentage) of the 1k course. The only time he actually had his feet on the ground was for about 5 seconds when he wanted to get the different colored cones they had on the course. I crossed the finish line holding him as he was crying again! I think we just put too much pressure on him. Having both his parents as runners, I can see how there could be too much pressure on the little guy.

Turkey Trot 2014

 

Age is just a number!

Since my Mom moved up in her age group this year she has placed twice in her age group. The first time being last month in her first Sprint Triathlon and today she placed in 2nd place in her age group!! She was so excited! She had already looked on the results from last year to see what the competition could potentially look like.  I am so proud of her especially when she almost gave up on running several years ago when she was diagnosed with osteoporosis. She is a perfect example that age is just a number and if you don’t give up on yourself, your body wont either.

Turkey Trot 2014

 

A new 5k PR!

I, just like my Mom, checked out last years times for my age group. I knew I had a decent chance of placing in the top 3 but, that would mean I would have to work every hard for it. Sadly, I came in 5th but, the good news is that I shaved off 15 secs/mile off my 5k time. I am very happy about that!! I never thought I would see any race time in the 7’s (minutes per mile).

Turkey Trot 2014

 

Took one for the  team!

Oh and a huge shout out to my hubby. He took one for the team today and let me run solo while he ran pushing the stroller. Since I had a better shot at potentially placing than he did obviously, that didn’t work out like I hoped :/ He still did an average 8:15 minute mile pace!!! He is much faster than me and always will be!!

Over all, the first half of today was a huge success! Now off to my parents for a big yummy feast!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!

Did you participate in a Turkey trot today?

Do you have any Family traditions on this day?

What is your favorite part about Thanksgiving?

This entry was posted in Holidays, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!! {Family Tradition}

  1. playfulpups says:

    You have a family of amazing runners! Love that your mom didn’t give up! I ran a 5-mile Turkey Trot and got a PR as well for me: 47:19. Great way to start the day 🙂

  2. Dina says:

    How lovely, thank you for sharing! A very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, have a wonderful time!
    Dina

  3. sarahdudek80 says:

    Whoa. Congrats to you and your mom and your husband for being the rock star. Great work to you all and Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Wow it’s a lot warmer where you live! We did a fun track workout with our MRTT group today. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Yes, it was warm. Like 90 degrees warm!

      How fun! I love seeing your pics of you and your mrtt group together! Always looks like you guys have lots of fun! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

Leave a comment